First Unitarian Church, Chicago, IL

At the First Unitarian Church in Hyde Park, Chicago, I climbed this ladder to reach their bell.

First Unitarian Church

And then I climbed this ladder.

First Unitarian Church

Actually, no, I didn’t. I chickened out. A fear of heights is not a good trait paired with the love of bells. Sometimes I overcome it, and sometimes I don’t.

I was very fortunate in that Rev. David Schwartz, the pastor at First Unitarian, had photos of the bells already, which he kindly shared with me. Their bell was cast by Meneely of Watervliet in 1930. The close-up photos show off their details magnificently.

First Unitarian Church

First Unitarian Church

First Unitarian Church

The First Unitarian Church in Chicago has a claim to fame in the Chicago bell world—their first church building on 87-93 Washington Street (where the Daley Plaza is now) possessed the first church bell in the entire city when it was installed in January 1845.*

Thanks, Rev. Schwartz, for showing me your bell!

*Henry Higgins Hurlbut. Chicago Antiquities: Comprising Original Items and Relations, Letters, Extracts and Notes Pertaining to Early Chicago. Chicago, 1881.

One Reply to “First Unitarian Church, Chicago, IL”

Leave a Reply

