Holy Trinity Orthodox Cathedral, Chicago, IL

I first encountered this cathedral a couple of years ago, when my husband and I were meeting up with a friend for dinner. We parked near this cathedral, walking by it as we made our way to the restaurant. On that particular evening–must’ve been a Saturday–a service was taking place and the doors were wide open, so I could get a clear view inside. I distinctly remember stopping in my tracks as I caught sight at the splendor of the cathedral interior–incense, ornate decorations, fully garbed priest, the works. It was such an unexpected vision of beauty that I just had to stop and take a look. See for yourself at their website pics.

When I went back recently, I was greeted by this sign. I hope that the congregation in this Louis H. Sullivan church are able to find the funds to restore their treasure.

Save the Louis H. Sullivan cathedral!
Save the Louis H. Sullivan cathedral!

So, what are the bells in the tower? The mechanism to ring the bells is actually just beyond the choir loft.

bell ropes
bell ropes

Each rope pulls on a separate clapper. Tony, the bell ringer, said that they normally have two people ringing at once to do a Russian zvon-style ringing. (For more on that, look at this–I’ll write a post on it another time!) Tony wasn’t able to give me a demonstration on that day, unfortunately.

Then we climbed these stairs.

stairs

And here are the bells: five in all. The largest bell was cast by Meneely in 1902 (I didn’t catch which Meneely company, alas), while the other four were cast by Verdin/Petit & Fritsen in 1977.

Verdin/Petit & Fritsen bell
Verdin/Petit & Fritsen bell
another Verdin/Petit & Fritsen bell
another Verdin/Petit & Fritsen bell
Meneely bell
Meneely bell

Thank you, Tony, for showing me around!

Leave a Reply

