Carillon at Central United Methodist Church, Lansing, Michigan

I visited my family in central Michigan this past weekend, so I took the opportunity to play the Christopher Hansen Memorial Carillon at the Central United Methodist Church in Lansing, Michigan. The deets: 36 bells from 1951 by Petit & Fritsen.

This field trip had several points of awesomeness.

First, the church is situated right across the street from the Michigan Capitol Building.

Michigan Capitol
Michigan Capitol

Second, I hardly had to climb any stairs at all to reach the practice console and the performance console.

carillon console at Central United Methodist Church, Lansing, MI
carillon console at Central United Methodist Church, Lansing, MI
detail on carillon console at Central United Methodist Church in Lansing, MI
detail on carillon console at Central United Methodist Church in Lansing, MI

Here’s me ready to play.

Kim at carillon console at Central United Methodist Church, Lansing, MI
Kim at carillon console at Central United Methodist Church, Lansing, MI

Third, the practice console had this beautiful detailing on the music stand.

detail on practice console at Central United Methodist Church, Lansing, MI
detail on practice console at Central United Methodist Church, Lansing, MI

Lastly, a rainbow appeared as I played my prelude to the Sunday service. And it wasn’t even raining! All due to my performance, I’m sure. (Kidding!)

Thank you, Central United Methodist Church and Bill Tennant, my kind host, for showing me your instrument.

One Reply to “Carillon at Central United Methodist Church, Lansing, Michigan”

  1. Thank you for the pictures. I was unable to see or hear the carillon, but I’m sure it was beautiful – rainbow and all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

